Working on the Family Trees!

Recently, my brother, Randy, came across yet another box of old photos at my parents’ house.  Some time ago, Mom and Dad took the box with them on one of their “Snow Bird” trips to Florida, and, with help from a friend writing on the backs of the photos, tried to identify and sort as many as possible.  What they came up with were groups of photos that went back a few generations on my paternal grandmother’s side – the Lueken family.  Dad already has (somewhere) a family tree from his father’s side over in Germany (I need to find that to add to the geneology page I’m working on, on the computer), so it’s really cool to finally be able to work on his mom’s side.  I’m trying to get a start on my Mom’s tree, too, though I will have to sit her down and MAKE her help me with that!  LOL

Apparently, quite a few of the older generations were completely in to the whole “large family” thing – this tree is starting to shape up like some of those amazingly-trained Bonzai trees, where some branches spread way out horizontally, as well as some branching up and out.  The earliest branch I’ve found so far is for my grandmother’s grandparents (born in 1834 and 1840).  They apparently had 11 children!  Of all those Lueken kids, John (my great grandfather) and his wife (Anna Marie) had 9 of their own.  Great Aunt Albertine had the most kids of that generation – 7 (or 8… I’m awaiting confirmation that “Buddy” is a knickname for one of the sons versus actually carrying that name, which I cannot find public records of yet).  Great Aunt Mary had 6 kids, Great Uncle Hubert had 5, Great Uncle Jerome had 4, Great Uncle Urban had 2, Great Aunt Frances had 1, Great Aunt Clara married but had no children, and Great Aunt Joanna never married and never had children.  Grandma (Hermina) had only 1 child – my Dad, Tom.

I’ve been able to add a few layers under several of my cousins’ branches, as well as to one or two of Great-Great-Grandpa Bernard (Henry) Lueken.  What’s even cooler than just finding out who they all are, is that I can match quite a few old photos to the names.  Ancestry.com is where I’m logging all this information and hope to gather more details as time goes by.

For Scott and Sean’s sake, I am trying to piece together some information on their Dad’s family tree, but, oddly haven’t had much luck with the details.  I will keep trying as I want them to have as much background history on their families as possible.

Just because they are so neat, I’m adding some of the old (OLD) family photos here:

Dad (Tom) at about 12 years (1954-1955 school year)

Dad (Tom) at about 12 years (1954-1955 school year)

Dad (Tom)

Dad (Tom)

Dad (Tom)

Dad (Tom)

Dad(Tom)

Dad(Tom)

Grandma (Hermina) when she was maybe 16 y/o

Grandma (Hermina) when she was maybe 16 y/o

Dad and Grandma (Tom and Hermina) (She was almost 40 when he was born)

Dad and Grandma (Tom and Hermina) (She was almost 40 when he was born)

Grandma (Hermina) on her First Communion

Grandma (Hermina) on her First Communion

Grandma (Hermina)

Grandma (Hermina)

Grandma (Hermina) on her Wedding day; L-R = Gus Bointman (Best Man) Frances Lueken (Maid of Honor and Hermina's sister), Hermina, Anna Marie Lueken (Hermina's mother), and Albert Ludwig (the groom/my grandfather)

Grandma (Hermina) on her Wedding day; L-R = Gus Bointman (Best Man) Frances Lueken (Maid of Honor and Hermina’s sister), Hermina, Anna Marie Lueken (Hermina’s mother), and Albert Ludwig (the groom/my grandfather)

Frances, Albert, Hermina, and Gus

Frances, Albert, Hermina, and Gus

Grandpa (Albert) at his retirement party.

Grandpa (Albert) at his retirement party.

Grandpa (Albert)

Grandpa (Albert)

Great Aunt Albertine's wedding day to Elmo Hodges, with Frances and Clara Lueken as attendants (her sisters)

Great Aunt Albertine’s wedding day to Elmo Hodges, with Frances and Clara Lueken as attendants (her sisters)

Great Aunt Clara

Great Aunt Clara

Great Uncle Jerome

Great Uncle Jerome

Great Uncle Urban at his wedding to Norena.  Two of the attendants are Great Aunt Mary and Great Uncle Jerome (did not have names for the others)

Great Uncle Urban at his wedding to Norena. Two of the attendants are Great Aunt Mary and Great Uncle Jerome (did not have names for the others)

Leave a comment

Filed under Photos

Leave a Reply

