May scrapbooking challenges

There will hopefully be a lot of challenges for me this month and I will try to get them all added here.

I’ve been following a blog for a long time, now, called Let’s Scrap. I love their site because they always have 2-page layouts and I tend to work best with those. Other than the first and last pages of my scrapbook albums, I really want my facing pages to match whenever possible. If I don’t have enough photos for a 2-page design, that doesn’t bother me as much as not having the pages coordinate. Many of the layouts I’ve posted in the gallery pages are inspired by sketches from Let’s Scrap. Here is this week’s sketch and my version of it:

1letsscrap

IMG_7145

Next is the first half-month’s sketch from Paper Secrets. I messed up a couple things, so I’m not really thrilled with it, but I’m not going to point them out, so maybe y’all won’t notice. I turned the sketch to work with the photo I had.

1maypapersecrets

IMG_7146

Another site that I found out about last December, Colorful Creations, has tons of monthly challenges and has been a great resource since the Scrap ‘N Chat board closed last fall. I have used many of their challenges while making the 2 wedding albums for my niece, but didn’t give proper credit at the time. This month they are having a Scrap-a-Thon, and here are the first couple sketches they posted, and my pages:

CCsketch1

IMG_7147

CCsketch2

IMG_7150

Colorful Creations also offers challenges where they just instruct you on supplies or techniques to use, but without a sketch. For these, I usually dig out old sketches that I’ve collected off anyplace I could find (using google to start my searches). The first one is an embellishment challenge, where you are simply instructed to use circles. The second one is titled “Random Wednesday”. This weekly challenge can be about anything, sometimes having a sketch, sometimes being about cards. This week we are to use lots of ribbon.

IMG_7148

IMG_7149

Here is the first half-month’s sketch from Sketch-n-Scrap and my version of it:

Sketch N Scrap #32

IMG_7151

I’ll be back with more later. Thanks for looking!

10 Comments

Filed under Scrapping

10 responses to “May scrapbooking challenges

  1. Lovely pages. I love the winter pages. Thanks for playing along at S~N~S.

  2. What a great pages you have here. Very nice works. So glad you played along with us at the Sketch-N-Scrap challenge.
    xx Ria

  3. wow you have been busy!!! Great layouts! thanks for playing along with Paper Secrets! πŸ™‚

  4. Awesome photos!!!! and I love your take on the sketch!Thank you for joining SNS this month!

  5. WOW! SO many layouts! I love how you rotated the sketch and such a cute photo of your ‘guard dog’!!! Thanks for joining us at Paper Secrets πŸ™‚

  6. Seems you have been VERY busy girl!!!!! Absolutely LOVE your layouts and photos!!!!
    Thanks for playing along with us at SNS!!!!

  7. Love all your layouts! The snow photos are gorgeous and you picked a perfect color palette to compliment so nicely! Thanks for joining us this month at Sketch N Scrap!

  8. Kerry

    Wow Nancie you have been busy again! I love your take on our 1st sketch and the photo’s are fantastic (I love snowy pictures). Glad you could play along with us again at Sketch N Scrap. xx

  9. Oh, yay, another photo posted since I was here earlier. πŸ˜‰ GORGEOUS winter photos, wow! Great paper too, thanks for playing along with us at Sketch N Scrap!

  10. LOL! Love the Guard Dog – ADORABLE! Great job with the sketch and thanks for playing along with us at Paper Secrets! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

