Story Time 11/29/2014

Wow, it’s been a very long time since I posted to this blog.  I had so many projects going on this year that I featured on my other blog, preppinwolf.wordpress.com, that I neglected adding any thoughts here.

I wanted to take a moment to sing the praises of my younger son, Sean.

Sean was quite a busy boy all his life. He was never the type to wake up and come into his mom and dad’s bedroom for some snuggle time.  He was the boy that peeked in our door, hoped we were still asleep, then snuck off downstairs to explore, also known as getting into everything!  Oh, the stories I could tell about his little adventures!

But today, I want to talk about the content of his character.

You see, Sean lost his grandmother recently.  She was not what I’d call a nice person.  Oh, she was cordial enough to “others” so few people knew the not-so-nice side of her.  But Sean did.  Grandma was the type of woman to play favorites, though she would never admit it to herself or others.  Between her own children, it was clear she favored her son (my kids’ father) over her daughter.  She claims she “raised them both the same” and couldn’t understand how they turned out so differently. My ex-sister-in-law has made some questionable choices in her life that would leave many people scratching or shaking their head in judgment of her.  Ironically, she’s actually got a terrific personality, but I didn’t get so spend much time with her to know her very well.

Still, Grandma’s favoritism extends to her grandchildren, too.  She had six grandkids from her daughter before my boys came along and the first-born of that bunch was always her favorite. When my two came along, the first-born, too, became her favorite. She doted on him more, spent more time with him, and spent more money on him. When it came to Sean, she seemed to merely tolerate him if she wasn’t scolding him.  Now, I know he’s always been a handful, and I, too, spent way more time scolding him than scolding his brother.

Yet, Sean’s gift was that he, unlike many in his family, isn’t one to hold a grudge. He seems to love unconditionally. When he heard his grandmother was in the hospital and not likely to recover, he insisted on spending what little money he had for a train ticket home to see her. His father suggested he not spend the money or make the trip, but Sean’s response was that he loved his grandmother and wanted to see her again before she passed.

How incredible is that!

Sean warms my heart with his kindness. He spent so many years crying over the way she treated him, yet, in the end, he chose to honor her instead of ignoring her.

This Christmas I hope everyone choses to remember others with love and forgiveness. I shall strive to emulate my son’s example.

God bless, and Merry Christmas, everyone!

Leave a comment

Filed under Story Time

Leave a Reply

